Answered By: Bobray Bordelon
Last Updated: Apr 28, 2020     Views: 36

Poverty guidelines are issued by the Department of Health and Human Services in late January of each year and are used for determining financial eligibility for certain programs. They vary by family size: one set of figures for the 48 contiguous states and D.C., one set for Alaska, and one set for Hawaii. They are updated from the latest published (final) weighted average poverty thresholds using the CPI-U and are rounded to various multiples of $10. In addition to the most recent guidelines, there is a table of historical guidelines

The University of Kentucky Center for Poverty Research National Welfare Data (1980-2018) includes data.

Related Topics

Contact Us

Chat with a Librarian

Text a Librarian

Text (609) 277-3245 to get live help on your mobile phone (available the same hours as the Chat service)

Email a Librarian

You can email your research questions to or you can request an individual appointment with a subject specialist.

Call a Librarian

Call (609) 258-5964 to speak to a reference librarian during most open hours of the Libraries.